After launching its ‘view once’ privacy feature to images and videos, the Meta-owned instant messaging application WhatsApp is now reportedly rolling out a new feature that allows users to share voice notes with view once mode enabled.
With this feature, it will be possible to share voice notes with a new layer of privacy as they cannot be saved, forwarded, and exported.
“After installing the latest WhatsApp beta for Android 126.96.36.199 update from the Google Play Store and the WhatsApp beta for iOS 188.8.131.52 update from the TestFlight app, some beta testers can experiment with this feature,” WABetaInfo, a website that tracks WhatsApp reported.
A screenshot shared by WABetaInfo revealed that a new view once icon is available within the chat bar while recording a voice note with a lock. When you tap this icon, the voice note will be sent in view once mode, so the recipient cannot export, forward, save, and record it.
After sending the voice note with the view once mode enabled, users won’t be able to listen to it and the recipient can no longer listen to the voice note after dismissing it.
This mode effectively minimizes the chances of unauthorised access or later listening, providing a new layer of privacy for sensitive and confidential information.
The report suggested that this new feature on WhatsApp empowers users with added control and privacy when sharing voice notes as these voice notes cannot be exported, forwarded, or shared with others.
“We think that this finally eliminates the risk of your personal or sensitive information falling into the wrong hands, adding an extra layer of privacy to your messages. In addition, we can confirm that the recipients won’t be able to save or record your voice notes, improving control of the content you share and safeguarding your privacy.” the report said